Updated: June 21, 2016

By Clayton Johns /  Photo courtesy Rod Henderson –

BRIGHTON, Ont. – June 19, 2016 – Mitch Brown used a lap eight pass in traffic to slide under Jamie Turner in turn three for the lead and paced the final 17 laps on the  way to his second win of the season at Brighton Speedway on Saturday night. The Brantford, Ont. native stated fourth for the 25-lap main event, but quickly jumped to second behind Turner.  Polesitter Shawn Sliter had trouble off the initial start, preventing the inside lane from getting to speed.

When the leaders caught the tail of the field on a very slick racetrack where the cushion was the fastest lane, Turner had to slow behind a pair of lapped cars battling side-by-side for position. Brown found a hole at the bottom of the track to run to the inside of Turner and took the lead.

Brown’s effort was slowed two laps later when Mike Ferrell spun in turn two on lap nine, the first of three cautions in the race. Brown and Turner had a single lapped car between them and third-place runner Dain Naida on the restart.

Turner couldn’t maintain pace with Brown when racing resumed and the latter held a lead of 2.5 seconds at the halfway point. It was for not as well however, as a second Ferrell spin brought the second yellow of the night on lap 14.

Naida made the most of the second restart, jumping to the bottom lane in turn one and sliding up in front of Turner at the exit of turn two to claim the second spot. Brown’s lead was erased once more on lap 15 when Rick Wilson spun to a stop off the top of turn four.

The final restart with 10 laps to go offered Naida his best chance at the lead, but he could not challenge a flawless Brown. The No.10 navigated lapped traffic flawlessly and went to victory lane 1.6 seconds ahead of the Michigan native. Jamie Turner held off his son, Ryan Turner, for the final spot on the podium while Glenn Styres completed the top-five.

In heat race action, heat one went uninterrupted as Dain Naida cruised to the victory over Picton, Ont. native and 2013 SOS Champion Chris Jones. Heat two saw the only red flag of the night when Dylan Westbrook went over the cushion in turn three, got off balance and tumbled slowly. He was uninjured and appeared to only suffer damage to the top wing. He went on to start the A-Main. Glenn Styres won heat two.

The Southern Ontario Sprints return to action on Friday, July 1 for a Canada Day challenge at Ohswkeen Speedway against the Kool Kidz/Corr-Pak 360 Sprint Cars before visiting South Buxton Raceway the following night on Saturday, July 2.


2016 SEASON EVENT #3 – SATURDAY, JUNE 18, 2016


(Number Name – Hometown)
0 Glenn Styres – Ohsweken, ON
2 Lee Winger – Mount Hope, ON
9 Steve Lyons – Carlisle, ON
10 Mitch Brown – Brantford, ON
11 Jamie Turner – Caistor Centre, ON
11J Chris Jones – Picton, ON
15 Mike Ferrell – London, ON
15aw April Wilson – Joyceville, ON
17x Dain Naida – Tecumseh, MI
42w Rick Wilson – Joyceville, ON
47x Dylan Westbrook – Oakland, ON
66 Frank Baranowski – Mount Hope, ON
71s Shawn Sliter – Port Colborne, ON
91 Ryan Turner – Caistor Centre, ON
98 Paul Pekkonen – Brockville, ON
1-10 Jake Brown – Brantford, ON

Heat 1 (8 Laps – Top 3 Redrew For Feature Start Position)
1. 17x Dain Naida
2. 11J Chris Jones
3. 71s Shawn Sliter
4. 42w Rick Wilson
5. 15aw April Wilson
6. 2 Lee Winger
7. 66 Frank Baranowski
8. 15 Mike Ferrell
Time: 1:49.250.

Heat 2 (8 Laps – Top 3 Redrew For Feature Start Position)
1. 0 Glenn Styres
2. 10 Mitch Brown
3. 11 Jamie Turner
4. 91 Ryan Turner
5. 98 Paul Pekkonen
6. 1-10 Jake Brown
7. 9 Steve Lyons
8. 47x Dylan Westbrook
Time: 5:21.669.

FEATURE (25 Laps)
1. 10 Mitch Brown
2. 17x Dain Naida
3. 11 Jamie Turner
4. 91 Ryan Turner
5. 0 Glenn Styres
6. 11J Chris Jones
7. 71s Shawn Sliter
8. 1-10 Jake Brown
9. 47x Dylan Westbrook
10. 42w Rick Wilson
11. 15aw April Wilson
12. 9 Steve Lyons
13. 98 Paul Pekkonen
14. 2 Lee Winger
15. 66 Frank Baranowski
16. 15 Mike Ferrell.
Time: 13:03.794.
Margin of victory: 1.649 seconds.

A-Feature Lap Leaders – Jamie Turner Turner (1-7), Mitch Brown (8-25)

Mitch Brown – 2 (Brighton May 21, Brighton June 18), Ryan Susice – 1 (Humberstone June 5)

Ohsweken Speedway – Friday, July 1, 2016

About the Southern Ontario Sprints: Founded in 1996, the Southern Ontario Sprints series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. 2016 marks the 21st year of operation for the Southern Ontario Sprints, brought to you this season by The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum,, and

Twitter: @SOSsprints