Saturday restarts the 2019 SOS season at Brighton Speedway

Updated: May 16, 2019


By Tommy Goudge & Mike Ferrell

London, Ont. (May 14, 2019) – After a rainout in April, the 24th season of Southern Ontario Sprints racing continues this Saturday when the tour heads to Brighton Speedway for the second round of the 2019 SOS schedule.

This weekend’s event at Brighton is the first of six SOS visits to the Rinaldi Family-owned facility in 2019. The SOS tour has raced at Brighton 113 times since first visiting there in 1997, with Rick Wilson’s 22 victories topping the all-time SOS win list at the Northumberland County track. Dylan Westbrook, Cory Turner, Ryan Turner, Steve Lyons, and Ryan Susice claimed feature wins last season at the 1/3 mile oval.

Cory Turner will kick off his SOS title defense this weekend behind the wheel for a new team this season in the Burger Barn #13.  The off season has seen a number of the top SOS drivers change rides with Dylan Westbrook now driving for Hills Racing in his familiar 47x

All SOS races at Brighton Speedway in 2019 will feature a Dash race brought to you by Naylor Dock Systems , Docs Are Us and Four Points Sheraton Hotels

Saturday’s event at Brighton will start at 7:00 pm, with spectator gates scheduled to open at 5:00 pm. Please visit for additional event information.

2019 Southern Ontario Sprints Season – Round Two

Brighton Speedway
775 County Rd 64
Brighton, Ontario K0K 1H0
Phone: 613-475-1102
Twitter: @BrightonSpdwy

Saturday, May 18, 2019 – Racing begins @ 7:00 p.m.

About the Southern Ontario Sprints: Founded in 1996, the Southern Ontario Sprints series is a traveling winged 360 Sprint Car tour based in Ontario, Canada. 2019 marks the 24th year of operation for the Southern Ontario Sprints tour. The 2019 schedule consists of 12 events at three different race tracks in Ontario; each SOS tour event pays a minimum of $1,200-to-win and $240-to-start. Visit for more information.

Twitter: @SOSsprints

The Southern Ontario Sprints would like to thank their 2019 partners, including Brighton Speedway, Merrittville Speedway, Ohsweken Speedway, the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame and Museum,, and Kreitz Oval Track Parts.