Updated: July 12, 2014

By Clayton Johns

BRIGHTON (July 13, 2014) – Mitch Brown (No.10b Haldex) led all 25 laps for his third straight win at Brighton Speedway with the Southern Ontario Sprints on Saturday night. Brown started on the pole after earning top qualifier and pulling the pole during the redraw on the frontstretch in front of the Brighton Speedway fans.

Brown dueled with Glenn Styres (No.0 O’Neil’s Farm Equipment) early on as he got by front row starter Paul Pekkonen (No.98 All Out Performance) on the opening lap. The race was slowed quickly on lap two as Chris Jones (No.11J Jones Automotive) rolled to a stop in turn one after contact with the frontstretch wall resulted in a broken front end.

Brown and Styres once again broke away from the rest of the field once the green flag waved again. Another caution at lap three was for a spinning Jamie Turner (No.11T Hank’s Discount Smokes) in turn three.
Turner did not return. Kyle Fraser (No.01) drew a yellow one lap later after sliding to the infield in turn three following contact on the backstretch.

Once the race restarted, Styres tried to challenge Brown by moving down to the bottom. On lap seven, Styres attempted a slide job in turn four, but couldn’t get in front of Brown and slid over the cushion. The mistake allowed Brown to grow his lead until he made a similar mistake exiting turn two on lap 10. That brought Styres within two cars lengths.

The two drivers reached some dicey situations in lapped traffic on lap 11. Brown was forced to move to the bottom on a pair of occasions while Styres followed suit.

At the halfway mark, Rick Wilson (No.42w Riverside Bar & Grill) spun to the turn three infield, and Shawn Sliter (No.71s) tipped on his side in turn four to cause a red flag.

The restart led to 12 green flag laps to close out the race. On lap 16, Brown and Styres had separated from the top-five by a full straightaway.
A four-car battle began to shape up for the final three spots in the top-five. Keith Dempster (No.5 Renway Energy), Pekkonen, Dain Naida (No.07x Townline Variety), and Justin Martin (No.7m Vortex Insulation) raced within a two car lengths of each other.

As Brown held off Styres through lapped traffic, Dempster secured the third spot and Pekkonen ran fourth. Naida stole the fifth spot away from Martin in the latter half of the race to complete the top-five.

Brown’s win extends his Brighton streak to three and he remains the only Sprint Car victor at the speedway this season.

In heat race action, an incident in heat two caused damage to a trio of cars after Brad Lodge (No.2 RBM Carriers) and Cory Turner (No.19 KT
Tobacco) made contact after the initial green. Sliter was collected in the incident as well, but all three cars were able to start the feature.
In heat three, Charlie Sandercock (No.57 Excel Tower Service) flipped in turn one after losing a right rear tire. The damage to the rear-end and the top wing was too severe for Sandercock to make the feature.

The Southern Ontario Sprints are back in action on Saturday, August 2 at South Buxton Raceway before returning to Brighton on August 9.

Entries: Race 7 – Brighton Speedway – July 12, 2014

0 Glenn Styres – Ohsweken, Ont.
01 Kyle Frasen – White Lake, Ont.
07x Dain Naida – Tecumseh, MI
2 Brad Lodge – Stouffville, Ont.
5 Keith Dempster – Alton, Ont.
7M Justin Martin – St.Thoman, Ont.
10b Mitch Brown – Brantford, Ont.
10c Bob Crawford – Sutton, Ont.
11j Chris Jones – Picton, Ont.
11t Jamie Turner – Caistor Centre, Ont.
15 Mike Ferrell – London, Ont.
15aw April Wilson – Joyceville, Ont.
19 Cory Turner – Caistor Centre, Ont.
25 Warren Mahoney – Lefroy, Ont.
42w Rick Wilson – Joycevill, Ont.
57 Charlie Sandercock – Carrying Place, Ont.
66 Frank Baranowski – Hamilton, Ont.
71s Shawn Sliter – Port Colborne, Ont.
84 Tyler Rand – Picton, Ont.
98 Paul Pekkonen – Brockville, Ont.

Heat 1 Results (8 Laps – Top 3 to Redraw)
1. 10b Mitch Brown (1)
2. 84 Tyler Rand (2)
3. 0 Glenn Styres (4)
4. 7m Justin Martin (3)
5. 07x Dain Naida (6)
6. 11t Jamie Turner (7)
7. 25 Warren Mahoney (5)

Heat 2 Results (8 Laps – Top 3 to Redraw)
1. 01 Kyle Fraser (3)
2. 5 Keith Dempster (7)
3. 15 Mike Ferrell (6)
4. 66 Frank Baranowski (5)
5. 2 Brad Lodge DNF (1)
6. 19 Cory Turner DNF (2)
7. 71 Shawn Sliter DNF (4)

Heat 3 Results (8 Laps – Top 3 to Redraw)
1. 11J Chris Jones (4)
2. 42w Rick Wilson (3)
3. 98 Paul Pekkonen (1)
4. 10c Bob Crawford (2)
5. 57 Charlie Sandercock DNF (6)
6. 15aw April Wilson DNF (5)

Sanderson’s Tire and Automotive Southern Ontario Sprints A-Main (25 Laps):
1. 10b Mitch Brown (1)
2. 0 Glenn Styres (4)
3. 5 Keith Dempster (6)
4. 07x Dain Naida (13)
5. 98 Paul Pekkonen (2)
6. 7m Justin Martin (10)
7. 84 Tyler Rand (5)
8. 25 Warren Mahoney (15)
9. 42w Rick Wilson (9)
10. 71s Shawn Sliter (19)
11. 10c Bob Crawford (12)
12. 15 Mike Ferrell (7)
13. 19 Cory Turner (18)
14. 66 Frank Baranowski (11)
15. 2 Brad Lodge (16)
16. 01 Kyle Fraser DNF (8)
17. 11t Jamie Turner DNF (14)
18. 11j Chris Jones DNF (3)
19. 15aw April Wilson (DNS) (17)
20. 57 Charlie Sandercock (DNS)

The Southern Ontario Sprints 2014 season is proudly presented by Speedway Motors, Wiseco Pistons, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame and Museum, Motorsport Designs and Photography, Kreitz Oval Track Parts, Canadian Motorsports Expo, Sanderson’s Tire and Automotive, and

Find the Southern Ontario Sprints online at
For live updates, race results and more, follow the SOS on Twitter @SOSsprints.
Find them on Facebook at

Photos courtesy of Rod Henderson,
Find the Southern Ontario Sprints online at
For live updates, race results and more, follow the SOS on Twitter @SOSsprints.
Find them on Facebook at

Photos courtesy of Rod Henderson,